Mississauga, Ontario – Dive Ontario was able to interview Émilie Kelly from Ottawa National Diving Club.

Émilie loves a challenge! She loves to compete, especially when she gets to go to new places around the world and meet new people in the process. When Émilie is not diving, she enjoys spending time cooking and baking.

Please enjoy our interview with Émilie!

Q: At what age did you begin to dive?

I was 9 years old when I started diving.

Q: What does diving mean to you?

Diving gives me the chance to be a better person. It teaches me perseverance and how to overcome my fears.

Q: Why did you start diving?

I started diving because I saw diving during the Summer Olympics, and it looked fun and challenging.

Q: What keeps you motivated?

I am a very energetic person, so training is my outlet. Also, I like to see my teammates even virtually during COVID.

Q: Favourite dive?

Double on 1 meter.

Q: What is your greatest accomplishment as a diver?

My greatest accomplishment is to have placed to be able to go to the Team Ontario training camp at the Pan Am Center in Toronto.

Q: Favourite memory from diving?

My favourite memory from diving is when I traveled to Matanzas, Cuba with some of my teammates for a competition.

Q: Favourite exercise?

My favourite exercise is to do pike-ups.

Q: Biggest fear while diving?

 My biggest fear while diving is hitting the board.

 Q: What is the best part about competing?

I like meeting new people.

Q: Who is your biggest cheerleader/supporter?

My parents are my biggest cheerleaders.

And now, a Poolside Personality speed-round!

Q: Do prefer sweet or savory snacks?


Q: Favourite movie?

Legally Blonde.

Q: Favourite book?

The Giver.

Q: Favourite song?

History by One Direction.

Q: Favourite season?


Q: Favourite subject in school?


Q: If you were an animal, what animal would you be? Why?

 I would be a lion…they are dependable, fierce, confident, and have leadership.

 Q: If you weren’t diving, what would you be doing?

Track and field, or gymnastics.

Q: Favourite place in the world you’ve visited/place you would like to visit most?

My favorite place in the world is Thailand, I would love to go back.

Q: Favourite hobby?

Cooking and baking.

Stay tuned for more poolside profiles!